Hong Kong pre-season tournament for S-Pa

Shimizu S-Pulse have announced that they will be participating in the 2012 Nikon Asian Challenge Cup in Hong Kong as part of their pre-season preparations. S-Pa will join Hong Kong’s South China AA, the South Korean side Seongnam Ilhwa Chunma and Guangzhou Evergrande FC from China in the straight knockout tournament commencing 23 January, with all fixtures to be played at the Hong Kong Stadium. The Shizuokan team will face South China AA before then contesting the final or the third-place match on 26 January.

A squad comprising 21 players has been announced for the trip, with Shimizu expected to leave Japan for the island on 20 January.

Squad No. Position Name
1 GK Kaito Yamamoto
2 CB Taisuke Murumatsu
3 CB Yasuhiro Hiraoka
4 DM Calvin Jong-A-Pin
5 CB Keisuke Iwashita
6 DM Kota Sugiyama
7 FW Alex Brosque
8 AM Takuka Edamura
11 AM Genki Omae
13 FW Toshiyuki Takagi
14 FW Sho Ito
17 CM Yosuke Kawai
18 CM Shinji Ono
19 FW Naohiro Takahara
21 GK Kenpei Usui
24 AM Makoto Shibahara
25 DF Tomoya Inukai
26 FW Satoru Kashiwase
27 FW Atomu Nabeta
29 GK Masatoshi Kushibiki
30 CB Sung-Ho Kang

(The 2011 Emperor’s Cup quarter-final between Cerezo Osaka and Shimizu S-Pulse. The match ended 2-2 in normal time, with Cerezo victorious following a 6-5 penalty shoot-out, goalkeeper Kaito Yamamoto missing the decisive penalty for S-Pa)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s